Sound Energy Plus

 Energy Balancing           Deep relaxation           Stress and Pain Relief           Healing

Reiki and Chakras

Anna Parkins, Reiki Master Teacher

The Human Energy Field (HEF) or subtle energy field is comprised of the aura, chakras and meridians.  These terms are now becoming more mainstream as the general public becomes aware of the value of acupuncture, massage, and, of course, Reiki.

Imagine our bodies in terms of layers that have major and minor arteries and energy centers. You might see it as an energy matrix or grid or highway with entrance points, gateways, and transformers. The chakras or energy centers are like transformers, the meridians like pathways and the aura a multi-layered, egg-shaped energy field.

The term “chakra” comes from the Sanskrit, a sacred Indian language, and means “wheel of light.”  You might also see it described as a spinning vortex or power center.  Even though Mikao Usui did not teach the chakra system, he did use techniques to build the energy flow through the meridians and to strengthen the hara center.  The Hara or Tan Tien is the location of original life force energy we are all born with. (Reference Diane Stein’s “Essential Reiki” p.34)  Hawayo Takata was aware of the tara method and is not known to have taught the chakra system in the West. A number of her students included the chakra system into the modern teachings of Reiki, including them in the techniques and the attunement process.

The seven major energy centers in the physical body (based on the endocrine glands) have correspondences in the other layers (etheric, astral, mental, spiritual) of the aura. With each chakra there is also an association with color (viewed by clairvoyants in the etheric field) as well as a relationship or connection with other attributes, symbols or issues. For example, the rainbow colors – red, orange, yellow, green, blue, indigo and violet – are related to the seven major chakras located at the base of the spine, sacral center, solar plexus, heart, throat, brow and crown. 

On another level, the basic qualities of chakras as written about by Caroline Myss are listed as follows:

  • Root Chakra – groundedness, family identity, bonding
  • Sacral Chakra – creativity, survival instincts, sexuality
  • Solar Plexus Chakra – self respect, self esteem, ethics
  • Heart Chakra – love and compassion
  • Throat Chakra – choice, faith, personal authority
  • Third Eye Chakra – wisdom, intellectual skills, inspiration
  • Crown Chakra – inner divinity, inner guidance

These qualities or correspondences can help the client focus on or clarify an intention. This may help the practitioner focus on a chakra or location for hand placements. As mentioned, there are other major and minor chakras, all serving a particular function and purpose. 

So what is the importance of the chakra system in relation to Reiki? Diane Stein says all we need to know in Reiki I are the hand positions in relation to the seven major chakras. Yes, we can reference each chakra, its physical location and the effects of imbalance in that particular part of the body. Since Reiki works on the cause and effect, understanding the mental/emotional/ spiritual root can assist us in understanding the physical effect.  Knowing about a disease may help us decide which hand position to use.  Just think of “The Original Reiki Handbook of Dr. Mikao Usui” which lists treatment positions. But is this part of our role as Reiki practitioners? 

During a Reiki treatment we find that the chakras become balanced and we may sense/visualize whether chakras are open or closed, blocked, etc. In other words, we find energy blockages are cleared with the use of Reiki.  Some teachers may show you which chakras work well in pairs, where to place hands. Some Reiki practitioners list chakra healing in their repertoire. Teachers may show you (so you can show others) how to sense the aura and what subtle energy feels like. Worth mentioning are the five paragraphs that William Rand has written about the aura, chakras and meridians.  He states that treating the chakras can also be an important part of giving a Reiki treatment. In fact, Lawrence Ellyard and other authors write about using a specific sequence of symbols for chakra balancing. Indeed other teachers have developed techniques or systems in working with the chakra system.  A further discussion on some of the other chakras is given by Walter Lubeck in the article “Understanding the Body of Light” published in Reiki News magazine in which he references nadis (meridians) and aura chakras. While there are many books and articles concerning the chakra system, their study is both fascinating and enlightening. 

To sum up, awareness of the chakras in relation to Reiki:

  • Makes describing the hand placements easier.
  • Gives us a relationship between chakras and organs.
  • Increases our knowledge of how Reiki works in the attunement process.
  • Helps us understand the needs of clients.
  • Enables us to use Reiki for further chakra balancing.
  • Increases our ability to converse about the holistic relationship between the physical, emotional, mental and spiritual realms.
  • Gives us a new and brighter world to explore with our consciousness.

In our Reiki practice we are concerned with health and balance. The chakra system is designed to be healthy and balanced. Knowing about the chakras can only expand our conscious awareness of who we truly are and what magnificent beings we truly are. Here we have an intricate world that is awesome and one we can experience in many ways. 

Are the worlds of Reiki and chakras connected? You decide.

Bookmark this page
Google Bookmarks Facebook Stumbleupon

Check it out!
Anna's blog!

Subscribe to our free monthly newsletter ...
to keep up-to-date on articles, classes, events and more.

Your email address is never shared.